When the student is ready the teacher appears

Hello Everyone!!

Do you realize that when you are planning to buy a new car, phone, house or maybe a new lipstick shade; It is then, that you notice all the billboards or an article in the paper/magazine, that you would have otherwise overlooked. Similarly, in our lives we have many events, opportunities that knock our door. But either we do not hear it, because our focus is in a different direction or we are just not ready for it. But, when we are ready to learn, grow, change; the teacher appears as the student is ready. It maybe in the form of a book, workshop, person, anecdote or anything that makes you pause, think and learn. 

Here is my story:

I am absolutely passionate about dancing. It was the only thing that made me forget the world, time and sometimes myself too. I was repeatedly told to join yoga for better strength, balance and core. I tried a couple of classes here and there but I always found a reason not to go. And then I found a Yoga class, just a skip away from my house, Total Yoga. I had the full intention of checking it out. But, somehow I found yet another excuse.

 A year later, I again asked google for the best yoga class. I tried what I heard was the best, but I soon was wandering again. Then, I landed at Total Yoga with no expectations and guess what, it has been 4 months and I am loving it!! 🙂 🙂 Every class, every asan(posture), every story told by our teacher, every breathing exercise and every moment we are reminded to live in the now. I love all of it. It is my blessing in disguise. It makes me happy, very happy. I found something besides dancing that keeps me happy and calm.

And then it struck me, that my teacher was always around, but I was not ready. And when I was ready, I embraced it. It is not the fitness training or effective weight management that was my teacher. But it was the mind training that was waiting for me to be ready. And when I had an open mind to accept the new teachings, I found the best teacher. They nourished my mind and body. How??? that’s another story for another day. 

Your teacher will appear and take you to greater heights. Till then –

Mind your wings 🙂

6 comments

  1. cicorm · October 16, 2015

    Very true. Till we are ready, we look but do not see, hear but do not listen! 🙂 Many things becomes clear as day when the time is right / we start looking… 🙂

    Like

  2. binisun · October 16, 2015

    I like this article 🙂 that’s true that the openess of mind and being able to recognize and embrace the opportunies allows to live “fully” the new experiences. 🙂

    Like

  3. Nomzi Kumalo · October 17, 2015

    🙂

    Like

  4. Ngobesing Romanus · October 23, 2015

    This is very true. As someone has said, unless you are ready you will look but will not see. Your posts are great. If you receive awards, I am happy to nominate you for the versatile bloggervaward. Kindly check on my site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

