Alone vs Loneliness

Do you feel lonely at times even though you are surrounded by people? 

Are there times you enjoy yourself a lot, though you are alone?

A lot of people choose to surround themselves with people, pets, loud noise all the time. It makes me wonder, don’t they want some “Me time”, where they want to enjoy their own company? On enquiring, I found out that a few people get lonely with no one around or all their troubles, worries surface when they are by themselves. And, there are a few social ones, who do not understand the concept of “Alone time or Me time” as they are at their best, with people around. They banter, juggle, express themselves freely and find that alone time is for introverts or eccentric artists.

On the other hand, I see busy moms, couples who make an extra effort to make some time for themselves, ALONE. I asked them why did they need that alone time; I got answers like, “I need some peace and quiet time”, “I am at my creative best when I am alone”, “I like to do some cleaning alone with soft music, as it is my stress buster”.

I would like to add that there have been times I’ve been lonely with many people around me. On introspection, I realized that there are times you feel lonely in a crowd; But, if you surround yourself with people you like, you have the time of your life and even in silence you find peace with them. Alone time is never a hassle with them around, they understand and respect your need for being alone.

Finally, I would like to mention that, “Having people around is essential as we are social beings; but Spending some time with yourself, helps you learn a lot more about you and helps you in the growth process. Don’t spend the time analyzing things, fretting and fuming, just enjoy the leisure. Take some time to pamper yourself and learn to enjoy your company.   To each his own, but spending some quality time with yourself can be refreshing. Try it, just for 5 minutes”

Thank you for being here

Mind your wings

15 comments

  1. Mitch · September 14, 2015

    The questions intrigue me. This is something I can relate to. A lot. I love alone times so much that I have contemplated being a hermit someday. It helps me recharge and gives me ample strength to face people again.

    Thanks for sharing this! I love the read. 🙂

    Like

  2. Ngobesing Romanus · October 3, 2015

    I like to be alone a lot of times to think; but I have also found that spending good time with quality people can be edifying and really rewarding. We have to strike a balance. You give me some good ideas for a post. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Alone but having excellent company | SUCCESS INSPIRER
  4. theextraaamile · October 11, 2015

    loved this piece of writing 🙂

    Like

  5. theextraaamile · October 11, 2015

    Reblogged this on Goin' the..extra..aamile.

    Like

  6. Miss Book Thief · October 11, 2015

    I don’t think being alone and being lonely are the same. I can so relate to this post. Great one. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

