The Art of Being Judgemental

Hello Everyone!!

Hello to the people who are constantly being judged,Hello to the people who constantly judge and Hello to the lucky people who have escaped this circle.

Everyone is entitled to have opinions. But we cannot enforce them on others. A lot of us know and understand this. Similarly, we all have opinions about people, what they do, what they should do and what stereotype they fit in. She is the black sheep of the family, he is a rebel with low moral values, he is the perfect gentleman, so forth and so on. And then there is, She is a horrible person, How can he live with himself after everything, He is such a burden on this world. This is where I have a problem.

I recently heard the phrase “If I was her, I would Kill myself…” WOW! Big statement. On this I replied “You are not her.” On which she made me understand that if her actions were similar to the other person, she would choose to die, rather than live and cause misery to the other people. 

This left me sad and thinking. What had the other person done to face such harsh criticism. The other person had chosen a path not travelled upon  and had chosen to live life on her/his terms.

The fact that I am calling someone judgemental is being judgemental too. And I realized we all are busy judging others. We all have heard the saying “Don’t judge my path, if you haven’t walked in my shoes.” That’s so true. We don’t’ know their experiences, their feelings, their circumstances or the difficult choices they had to make. Besides every individual is a different person.

It is so easy to be self-righteous and logical. “If I was her, I would have done the right thing.” EXCUSE ME… Who decides what is right for her or not? As long as she can live with her conscience and knows her values and reasons, she is right. It is so easy to point at others, but please see if your hands are clean.

In my early teenage years, I was idealistic. Things-People were either black or white. I was naive and judgemental. People were good or bad, right or wrong, selfish or selfless. But as I grew up, I see the 100 shades of grey. I am in no position to judge anyone. What appears at the surface is just the tip of the iceberg, there is a lot more hidden in the depths of water.

It is so easy being morally uptight and logical when judging someone. And people often tell, “If I were in her shoes, I would have done so n so.” Well, you are not in her shoes and you are altogether a different individual. We all have different dreams, emotions, priorities, fears and experiences that have shaped us. Please stop being so judgemental, because you might just break the other person. On the other hand, sometimes  you add more fuel, intensity to their passion, courage or dreams, but this happens rarely. Remember, if you can’t understand, then just let them be.

And for all those standing on the threshold of being judged. IT IS OK. You know your reasons. You know who you truly are. Just “Be” and some day people will see you for who you really are. A little more courage  please….

“Finally, It is ok if you judge me, but remember to be perfect for the rest of your life.”

“I will mind my wings, you take care of yours ;)”

3 comments

  1. littleduckies · May 15, 2015

    Interesting. Listen, I can’t force my opinion on you, and you can do what you want, as long as it doesn’t affect me. But there are some things that aren’t okay, ever, period.

    Like

    • littleduckies · May 15, 2015

      Not “you” specifically, but “you” meaning society in general. I do try not to judge, but sometimes it’s pretty hard.

      Like

  2. mindyourwings · June 6, 2015

    My context is w.r.t third parties judging. In a relationship, the dynamics are different.
    Thank you for reading 🙂 Everyone’s perception is welcome 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

